District 9 (2009)

District 9

In 1982, a colossal alien ship arrives over Johannesburg, South Africa, carrying a desperate alien race nicknamed the “Prawns.” Forced to live in a squalid slum known as District 9, the Prawns are treated with fear and prejudice by humans. Wikus van der Merwe, a bureaucrat tasked with relocating the Prawns to a new camp, becomes entangled in their world after being accidentally infected with their advanced technology. This transformative experience forces him to see the Prawns in a new light and sparks a journey of survival and self-discovery as he becomes hunted by both humans and Prawns alike.

District 9 (2009)

1hr 52min
Release date: August 13, 2009 (USA)
Genre: Sci-fi, Action, Drama
Director: Neill Blomkamp
IMDb: 7.8

District 9 Box office collection

Budget: $30 million
Opening Weekend USA: $10.2 million
Gross USA: $57.6 million
Cumulative Worldwide Gross: $210.8 million

District 9 Awards

Academy Awards (2010)
Best Picture
Best Adapted Screenplay
Best Film Editing
Best Visual Effects
Saturn Awards (2010)
Best Science Fiction Film
Scream Awards (2010)
Best Science Fiction
SFX Awards (2010)
Best Sci-Fi Film
Empire Awards (2010)
Best Sci-Fi/Fantasy
London Film Critics’ Circle Award (2010)
Best Sci-Fi/Fantasy Film
Satellite Awards (2010)
Best Visual Effects

District 9 Cast

Sharlto CopleyWikus van der Merwe
Jason CopeChristopher Johnson
David JamesGrey Blofeld
Vanessa JoyTaunja Metyen
Robert HobbsKoobus
Jennifer JansenYolande
Terry PhetoSenator Nkomo
Mandla MkhizeObesandjo
William BrentEugene Brent
Johnny JenningsReeva

District 9 Writer and Director

Neill BlomkampDirector and Writer
Terri TatchellWriter